Meal #17: The end is the beginning

Our last meal of the Challenge wound up being the same as Meal #1, pork and cabbage stir-fry. I tried to make it a little tastier this time by adding an entire onion, patiently waiting for it to properly caramelize, adding soy sauce and five spice, following Chef Alzaid’s advice about salt, and letting the cabbage cook longer. I think I was pretty successful, but Hide seemed indifferent between this one and the previous one. Can’t win them all, I guess.

Ground pork and cabbage stir-fry, version 2

Even though I didn’t add a single grain of sugar or a single drop of honey, the dish turned out to be surprisingly sweet. I guess that’s what happens when you properly caramelize onion. Next time, I wouldn’t use five spice, because I think it enhanced the sweetness.

And that’s the end of the Challenge!

This entry was posted in Food, Food Stamp Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

