Meal #9: Potato stir-fry

I was inspired to make this dish after checking out this post (one of the unlooked-for advantages of blogging regularly is discovering that the people who like our posts have great blogs themselves). We didn’t make it exactly the same way – my mom taught me to rinse rather than soak the potatoes, and we usually have it with meat, but obviously it works well either way.

Potato stir fry with carrot, ground pork and scallions

Potato stir-fry

  1. Julienne potatoes and carrots.
  2. Rinse julienned potatoes (e.g., in a colander), a critical step for achieving the right texture and look later on.
  3. Simmer julienned ginger in some oil, add ground pork when the fragrance comes out. Brown meat while adding cooking wine and seasoning with salt and pepper.
  4. Remove meat and set aside. Without cleaning the wok, add the potatoes and carrots and stir fry.
  5. The potatoes are done when they are cooked but still have some crunch (I overcooked mine this time). At this time, turn off the heat, mix in the meat, and add diced scallion. Adjust seasoning (add a dash of soy sauce for savouriness), then serve.

Even though I overcooked the potatoes and sliced the carrots completely incorrectly (don’t look too closely, I beg you), I thought the result was absolutely delicious. Maybe I’ve just been missing Chinese comfort food, but this dish really hit the spot for me.

Actually, I bought broccoli specifically so I could julienne the stem and use it in this dish, but I forgot to do so. That would’ve been an interesting addition, but the green scallion saved the day.

This entry was posted in Food, Food Stamp Challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meal #9: Potato stir-fry

  1. You made my day!!:-) I am so glad you enjoyed the dish… Rinse or soak, the idea is to get rid of the starch juice in the potato as much as possible, so you won’t end up with mash potato… But I love the idea of adding broccoli stems. That would be my next try. 🙂 Happy blogging.

  2. Pingback: Week 2 Wrap-up | extra curricula

  3. Pingback: Week 4 Wrap-up: adventures in unsuccessful meals | extra curricula

Leave a Reply

