Espresso!

I recently acquired a new toy: an espresso machine! I have a slight (Clara would argue that ‘slight’ is an understatement) coffee obsession. It first started when I ventured into the world of coffee roasting. I began by using a cheap popcorn popper as my coffee roaster. I continued exploring the world of coffee roasting and soon started to explore several different methods for making coffee. For a while, I was happy just exploring different types of coffee and different roast levels. Even so, I suppose it was only a matter of time until I was infected with the espresso bug.

I began by doing a lot of research online. There are lots of great online resources for people looking to learn more about espresso but I mainly frequent coffeegeek.com and home-barista.com. After searching around, I was able to find a good deal on a used Vibiemme Domobar Super.

Espresso Machine!

Shiny!

I decided to get the Vibiemme Domobar Super for a number of reasons. First of all, a good deal came along at the right time. Second, the Domobar Super should be capable of making good espresso, relatively consistently. Third, the Domobar Super is able to steam milk and make espresso at the same time. If you don’t make milk drinks very often, #3 doesn’t matter much but I have ambitions of making latte art at some point.

Another important factor to consider is the grinder. Most espresso enthusiasts would argue that the coffee grinder is far more important than the actual espresso machine itself. No matter how great the espresso machine, if the grinder isn’t up to the job, you cannot make a good shot of espresso. I ended up getting a Baratza Vario as my first espresso grinder. Many consider the Vario as a great entry level espresso grinder. I decided on the Vario because it is a capable espresso grinder but is also capable of grinding for drip or press coffees. I bought the Vario with the intention of eventually upgrading to a better espresso grinder. At that point, I can switch the Vario over to drip and press coffee grinding duties.

I’ve just started to get my feet wet and still have much to learn. More to come later!

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

