Eggs and tomatoes

This is a dish I think every Chinese person knows how to make. To me, it’s Chinese comfort food, kind of like mac ‘n’ cheese, but much easier and quicker to make. Despite being dead simple and exceedingly common, it’s one of Hide’s favourite dishes. We eat it all the time.

Eggs and tomatoes

  1. Wash and chop the tomatoes. I usually use two tomatoes for five or six eggs. I chop my tomatoes chunky, a bit bigger than bite size.

  2. Wash and finely chop scallions, if desired.

  3. Heat up the wok (or whatever you’re cooking in) now. You want it to be nice and hot for the eggs.

  4. Scramble the eggs in a bowl. Season with salt and possibly a little bit of cooking wine or mirin. Add finely chopped scallions if desired.

  5. Generously oil the hot wok. Pour in the scrambled eggs and listen to the sizzle. Push the egg around until it’s pretty much cooked, then set aside.

  6. Dump the chopped tomatoes into the wok. Add a little bit of water to help them steam, and cover. Let the tomatoes steam until they look mushy around the edges, about a couple of minutes.

  7. Season with salt and dump the scrambled eggs in. Mix it up and serve.

Despite following my mom’s instructions exactly, I can never get mine to taste as good as hers. Mom powers. I just can’t compete.

This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eggs and tomatoes

  1. G says:

    Yum! My parents used to make this a lot. I don’t really but now I’m craving it. Good cheap food for my upcoming starving student life!

  2. Pingback: Week 3 Wrap-up | extra curricula

Leave a Reply

