Introducing the giant tomato plant

At the beginning of the summer, we bought a tomato plant.

Babyhood

Soon after we bought it

About to touch the ceiling

About to touch the ceiling

A few months ago, one of our friends harvested his cherry tomatoes, put them in a salad, and invited us to dinner. Normally, I am polite and don’t pick through food. This time, though, I couldn’t help myself. After everybody had their chance at seconds, I went for the tomatoes like a laser-guided missile.

I don’t even like cherry tomatoes most of the time. The ones I had before were always so sour and unrewarding, especially compared to grape tomatoes and regular tomatoes. But our friend’s cherry tomatoes opened my eyes.

So we went to the farmer’s market, and chose a ‘Gold Gem’ hybrid on the advice of the tomato lady. She said they were very sweet. I said, ‘Sweet!’

Little did I know that Gold Gems are an indeterminate variety, which means they grow … and grow … and grow. Determinate varieties, on the other hand, grow to a certain height, then stop. I was dismayed, but found it difficult to imagine our unprepossessing baby plant reaching heights of 7 feet or more.

Our tomato plant took little time to prove me wrong.

It grew far faster than any other plant in our little container garden, putting out new leaves almost daily, growing a foot a week, needing larger and larger pots. It’s unstoppable, not even slowing down when it hit the ceiling. We even moved it down to the ground, giving it a bit more room to grow, which it took no time at all to conquer.

As Hide would say, I’m now feeling ‘infinite regret’. Next year, determinate varieties only. Indeterminate ones are simply not appropriate for indoor container gardens.

Oh yes, it is so touching the ceiling

So touching the ceiling

This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Introducing the giant tomato plant

  1. GC says:

    But where are the tomatoes?

    • Clara says:

      That’s an excellent question, to which the answer is a bit sad. I’ll be devoting a whole entry to the topic.

      • GC says:

        Did I tell you of my great eggplant disaster of 2010? I bought an eggplant seedling, planted it, and it grew like mad. But no fruit! Then I realized that I am an idiot. Apparently plants need to be pollinated. By the time I figured that out, all my flowers had died.

      • Clara says:

        Yeah, that’s exactly our problem! Tomatoes are billed as self-pollinating, but they need a little extra help, especially if they’re indoors. Fortunately we figured it out while we still had some flowers; and more flowers should be produced throughout the summer.

  2. Pingback: 3 Birds Berry Farm | extra curricula

  3. Matt says:

    You should put more hooks and string up to allow it to grow along the ceiling. Next time I come over, I expect to be able to lean my head back and catch the cherry tomatoes in my mouth as they fall.

    • Clara says:

      That’s pretty much happening anyway. I expect you to be able to pluck them from the vine with your mouth. 😉

  4. Pingback: Tomato pollination | extra curricula

Leave a Reply

